1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Lost? Reclaiming Your Center

Solar Plexus Chakra


Woman Doing Yoga Bow Pose

Yoga Bow Pose

Ann Cutting / PhotoLibrary
Chakra: Index | Basics | Symbols/Names | Primary 7 | Exercises | Foods | Meditations

You have seven major energy or psychic centers that radiate throughout the body, both front and back. These are called chakras which is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. Each chakra is a center for various energies to be transformed and linked in your body. The body chakras start at the base of your spine and run all the way to the top of your head.

Chakras are seen in clairvoyant or psychic sight sometimes as colored circles, funnels, flowers, or as just a field around a part of the body. These energy centers have a vibrational frequency and may also be heard clairaudiently.

In your human energy system, the center for personal power, your ability to make manifest into the world, is located in your solar plexus. This is your third chakra. Your third chakra is linked to your stomach, abdomen, upper GI tract, liver, gallbladder, pancreas, kidney spleen, adrenal glands and the middle spine area behind your solar plexus. It is also responsible for the structure of your metabolic system.

Your third chakra handles the energy of your personal power, self-esteem and personality. Your third chakra is the place where you learn to create boundaries for yourself. Issues such as trust, fear of rejection, self image are all part of this chakra. This is the center for action, energy and power.

In opening your third chakra, you may reach deep into your own sense of self and find your balance or boundary point. This point is the use of personal power as a weaver of inner and outer power. You have the power to create and accomplish, rather than the power over something or someone. In other words, you have the ability to manifest in the physical world.

The yoga postures of The Bow or the Pike Pose are very helpful to open, clear, and energize your third chakra. The Fire Breath (video) practice from Tantra Yoga and Kundalini Yoga is also powerful and helpful.

In opening, clearing and energizing your third chakra, you create a reconnection with self in an accepting and loving way. The third chakra, or solar plexus is the door into the center of your being. It is here where you will feel peaceful, calm and centered.

© 2005 Christopher Stewart

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Holistic Healing
  4. Holistic Approach
  5. Healing Community
  6. Guest Writers
  7. Christopher Stewart
  8. Lost? Reclaiming Your Center

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.