1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The Eight Human Talents

General Overview of the Chakra System


The Eight Human Talents


Chakra: Index | Basics | Symbols/Names | Primary 7 | Exercises | Foods | Meditations | Books

In the chart below you will notice that the first five chakras are each associated with an earthly element -- earth, water, fire, air, and ether. Most people recognize the first four elements, but are unfamiliar with the term "ether." Ether is a subtle, heavenly energy, beyond the earth.

As we move up the ladder of chakras, into the higher mental and spiritual realms, there are no longer earthly elements associated with these chakras.

Chakra Area of Body Human Talent Color Shadow Emotion Element
First Organs of Elimination Acceptance Red Resentment, Rigidity Earth
Second Sexual Organs Creativity Orange Passionate manipulation, Guilt Water
Third Navel Center Commitment Yellow Anger, Greed Fire
Fourth Heart Center Compassion Green Fear, Attachment Air
Fifth Throat Truth Blue Denial, Abruptnes Ether
Sixth Third Eye Intuition Indigo Confusion, Depression None
Seventh Crown of the Head Boundlessness Violet Grief None
Eighth Aura* Radiance White None None

*Aura = The Electromagnetic Field 

Chakra Imbalances

Lust, anger, greed, pride, and attachment are human qualities that result from the imbalance of the eight energy centers called chakras. When these imbalances settle in, we often experience mental or physical problems.

People often come to me with emotional blocks in a certain chakra that have manifested in the creation of a physical illness. The idea that certain emotions and talents live in certain areas of our bodies is not a new one, but I do think some people have taken this too far, and assume that if they get sick it is somehow their own fault. This is a negative way of looking at this phenomenon, and does more harm than good when it comes to healing our bodies and spirits. Your disease is not your fault. Illness is part of the whole learning experience of life, and everybody goes through it. That's what it means to be mortal.

Taking an Active Positive Role in Healing Yourself

See your body as God's perfect gift to you, for it is in loving and appreciating our body that we begin the path to consciousness. The eight greatest talents of humankind are located in the eight chakras, the eight major power areas of the body. The Eight Human Talents are the gifts of God that make us different from all other creatures on earth. Happiness is your birthright. The use and cultivation of these eight talents are keys to the happiness that God wants for you.

Happiness is Your Birthright

Our bodies are gifts from God. We need them to be here. For it is in loving and appreciating our bodies that we begin the path to consciousness. Happiness is your birthright. Opening, or balancing all your chakras is the key to that happiness. ~The Dalai Lama It is nearly impossible to balance these eight power centers perfectly to bring out their talents every day of your life. But don't worry, perfection isn't the goal. The goal is to become aware of the energy emanating from each chakra and to be able to call upon it when you need it. Let's say you're called on to make a presentation at a board meeting. You'll need to shift into the fifth chakra located at your throat to communicate your ideas clearly, and the third chakra to give your presentation the special emphasis and punch of commitment. If an angry coworker blows up over the smallest inconvenience, don't meet fire with fire. Try meeting her with your fourth chakra, using compassion to heal the fear and insecurity behind her outburst.

Our bodies are like complex worlds within worlds. We know where they begin and end, and yet they are vast and full of mysteries which we may never understand. No machine has ever been devised by a human that is as complex or artful as our own human body. The ancient system of chakras is a way to understand ourselves. There is an incredible amount of subtle interaction going on all the time.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Holistic Healing
  4. Energy Healing
  5. Chakra Balancing
  6. Working with Chakras
  7. The Eight Human Talents

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.