1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Six Tastes of Ayurveda

Dietary Recommendations


Six Tastes of Ayurveda

Healing Lesson of the Day

<previous> 11/08 <next>
Ayurveda: Basics | History & Principles | Daily Routine | Doshas | Dietary Guidelines | Six Tastes

Foods in the Ayurvedic diet are classified under six different tastes. It is recommended that each of these "tastes" be included in our daily diets for balance and overall healthfulness.

  • Astringent (air and earth), balances salt intake.
  • Bitter (air and space) purifies the body, good for skin tone.
  • Pungent (fire and air) clears sinuses, improves circulation, offers mental clarity.
  • Salty (water and fire) aids digestion, maintains electrolytes.
  • Sour (earth and fire) nourishes, energizes, and good for digestion.
  • Sweet (earth and water) strengthens, nourishes, promotes longevity.
Luis Davilla / Getty Images
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Holistic Healing
  4. Holistic Therapies
  5. Specialized Care
  6. Ayurvedic Medicine
  7. Six Tastes of Ayurveda

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.